Twelve Indian truck drivers will turn racers in the third season of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC), Greater Noida on March 20.

For its driver search, Tata Motors held a T1 Racer programme from which 17 Indian truck drivers were selected from a pool of over 550 entries from the company's customer base. This will be reduced to a final 12 who will race at BIC, organisers announced at a press conference yesterday.

Race day will see four races conducted across two categories — two Super Class races, comprising Indian drivers, and two Pro Class races, comprising top international drivers.