3rd ODI: India completes third consecutive whitewash of Zimbabwe

Jun 15, 2016, 17:48 IST | mid-day online correspondent

Harare: India inflicted a 3-0 series whitewash on the Zimbabwe after comprehensively winning the 3rd and final ODI by ten wickets at Harare on Wednesday.

This is India's third consecutive whitewash of an uninspiring Zimbabwe side.

Having already pocketed the series, India were expected to test their bench strength, but they only gave 30-year-old Faiz Fazal his ODI debut. 

Fazal along with in-form KL Rahul didn't disappoint as the duo chased down the paltry target of 124 with 28 overs to spare.

Rahul scored 63 not out and Fazal scored 55 in the winning effort. 

Jasprit Bumrah celebrates the fall of a Zimbabwe wicket
Jasprit Bumrah celebrates the fall of a Zimbabwe wicket with his teammates.

Earlier, promising medium pacer Jasprit Burah led from the front with four wickets as Indian bowlers made light work of the Zimbabwean batsmen to restrict them for a meagre 123 in 42.1 overs here on Wednesday.

Electing to bat after winning the toss at the Harare Sports Club, the hosts lost six wickets within a span of just six runs to lose the plot completely against a disciplined Indian bowling line-up.

Senior batsman Vusi Sibanda once again got off to a good start scoring 38, while opener Chamu Chibhabha scored 27 as the rest of the batsmen crumbled under pressure.

Zimbabwe got off to a patient start as Chibhabha and Sibanda put on 36 runs for the second wicket before Sibanda paired up with Timycen Maruma (17) to raise 34 runs for the third wicket.

Comfortably placed at 104/3 by the 33rd over, Zimbabwe's innings once again hit the roadblock as Bumrah accounted for Maruma and Elton Chigumbura off consecutive deliveries before Malcolm Waller (8) perished to a silly run-out on the very first ball of the next over.

Zimbabwe's woes did not end there as left-arm spinner Axar Patel packed skipper Graeme Cremer the very next ball to reduce them to 104/7 and then wicketkeeper Richmond Mutumbami (4) and Tawanda Mupariwa (1) were soon back in the dressing room.

The last wicket duo of Neville Madziva (10) and Donald Tiripano (2) added 13 runs before medium pacer Dhawal Kulkarni effected a run-out off his own follow-through to skittle out the hosts for 123.

For the visitors, apart from Bumrah's four-for, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal took two scalps and Axar Patel and Dhawal Kulkarni chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Brief Scores:
Zimbabwe: 123 all out in 42.2 overs (Vusi Sibanda 38, Chamu Chibhabha 27, Jasprit Bumrah 4/22).
India: 126/0 in 21.5 overs (K L Rahul 63 not out, Faiz Fazal 55 not out).

Go to top