Dhaka: Mahmudullah Riyad has returned to the Bangladesh squad while Anamul Haque has been recalled for the One-Day International (ODI) series against South Africa.

Chief selector Faruk Ahmed announced a 14-man squad for the first two of the three-match series at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, reports bdnews24.com.

All-rounder Mahmudullah, who was ruled out of the India series and the Twenty20 Internationals against South Africa with a finger injury, has been included after full recovery.

Anamul suffered a shoulder injury during a World Cup pool match against Scotland in Australia last February. The opener was included after a surgery on his shoulder and played in the domestic league.

Mominul Haque and Rony Talukdar, who were in the squad for the ODI series against India, were left out while Taskin Ahmed is still nursing his injuries.

Jubair Hossain, who replaced Taskin in the third ODI against India, was also named in the squad against South Africa.

Despite being in the squad, Mominul or Talukdar did not play any of ODIs against India. Talukdar, who debuted in the second T20I against South Africa, was benched to make way for Mahmudullah's while Anamul replaced Mominul.

Bangladesh and South Africa will play the first two ODIs in Mirpur on Friday and Sunday.

The squad: Mashrafe bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Liton Kumar Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.