Dhaka: Bangladesh on Wednesday named uncapped opener Rony Talukdar in a 14-man squad for the first two of their three one-day internationals against Pakistan this month.

Talukdar has been rewarded for consistent performance in domestic competitions, having top-scored in the Dhaka Premier League with 714 runs at an average of 51 -- including two centuries.

"We have been keeping an eye on him for quite some time," said chief selector Faruque Ahmed.

"He was scoring runs consistently. So we thought this is high time to call him for national duty."

Talukdar replaces the experienced Imrul Kayes, who scored just nine runs in three matches in the World Cup in New Zealand and Australia.

Bangladesh announced its squad -- which also includes right-arm medium paceman Abul Hasan -- for only the first two ODIs, and will name its squad for the third and final match at a later date.

With paceman Shafiul Islam nursing an injury, Hasan was preferred over Al-Amin Hossain, who was sent home from the World Cup for a breach of team discipline.

"Al-Amin did not do anything significant since the World Cup. So we decided to recall Abul Hasan," said Ahmed.

Paceman Mashrafe Mortaza was retained as the captain although he will miss the first ODI on April 17 because of a one-match suspension for a slow-over rate in the World Cup.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will lead the side for that match in his absence, before Mortaza returns for the second and third matches on April 19 and 22.

Pakistan will also play two Tests and one Twenty20 match on their month-long tour.

All matches will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Dhaka, apart from the first Test to be held at Khulna.

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Rony Talukdar, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Abul Hasan.