BCCI to honour Dilip Vengsarkar with Lifetime Achievement award

Nov 18, 2014, 15:47 IST | PTI

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar was on Tuesday declared the winner of the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement trophy while pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar was adjudged the best international cricketer for the eight annual BCCI Awards, which will be given away on November 21.

Dilip Vengsarkar

One of India's best batsmen ever, Vengsarkar, who served the nation from 1976 to 1991, was nominated for the award by a committee comprising senior media personality Shekhar Gupta, BCCI interim president Shivlal Yadav and Hony. Secretary Sanjay Patel.

The Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award comprises citation, trophy and a cheque for Rs 25 lakhs.

Vengsarkar, 58, came into national prominence with a belligerent hundred for Mumbai against the Rest of India in the Irani Cup game at the start of the 1975-76 season - also his debut year.

He was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 and the World Championship of Cricket in 1985, and he led India in 10 Tests between 1987-89.

Nicknamed 'Colonel', Vengsarkar was Chairman of the BCCI's Talent Research Development Committee for three years,
and the Chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the period, 2006-08.

An award devised to honour the best performers of the year will also see Indian medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar get the
Polly Umrigar Trophy for being India's best international cricketer of the 2013-14 season. The award comprises trophy
and a cheque for Rs.5 lakhs.

The Meerut-born Bhuvneshwar, 24, has represented India in 11 Tests and 42 ODIs apart from an impressive domestic career for Uttar Pradesh and an IPL representation for Pune Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The BCCI ceremony has been organised at Taj Land's End on Friday evening, prior to Team India's departure to Australia for a Test series.

A pre-departure media conference will also be held before the award function with Team Director Ravi Shastri, Team
Manager Arshad Ayub and skipper Virat Kohli in attendance.

List of awardees:

Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award: Dilip Vengsarkar

Polly Umrigar award for India's best international cricketer: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Lala Amarnath award for best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy: Parvez Rasool (Jammu-Kashmir)

Lala Amarnath award for best all-rounder in domestic limited-overs tournaments: R Vinay Kumar (Karnataka)

Madhavrao Scindia award for highest run-scorer in Ranji Trophy: Kedar Jadhav (Maharashtra)

Madhavrao Scindia award for highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy: Rishi Dhawan (Himachal Pradesh)

MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Under-25 cricketer: Rahul Tripathi (Maharashtra)

MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Under-19 cricketer: B Anirudh (Hyderabad)

MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Under-16 cricketer: Shubham Gill (Punjab)

MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Woman cricketer: Smriti Mandhana (Maharashtra)

Go to top