'Birthday boy' Kohli nominated for ODI Cricketer of the Year Award

Dubai: Virat Kohli is the lone Indian male cricketer to be shortlisted for the LG ICC Awards 2014 after he was nominated for the ODI Cricketer of the Year category. Kohli had earlier won this award in the year 2012.

Kohli will be fighting for the honour against three South Africans -- Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn. De Villiers had won this award in 2010.

View Photos: Birthday special: Virat Kohli and his ODI records

Indian women's team skipper Mithali Raj has earned nomination in two categories -- Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year and Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. Pic/ AFP

Overall seven cricketers have been nominated for two categories each. Apart from Mithali Raj, Mitchell Johnson, de Villiers, Charlotte Edwards, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara and Stafanie Taylor's have been shotlisted.

Meanwhile, Australia's Mitchell Johnson and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara are in line to win their second Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year. Since the inception of the LG ICC Awards in 2004, no cricketer has won this award twice.

England duo of Gary Ballance and Ben Stokes, and New Zealand's pair of Corey Anderson and Jimmy Neeshan have been shortlisted for the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award. To qualify for that award, a player has to be under the age of 26 and have played fewer than five Tests and/or 10 ODIs at the start of the voting period, which is August 26, 2013.

Two Afghanistan (Mohammad Nabi and Samiullah Shenwari) and two Scotland players (Calum MacLeod and Preston Mommsen) have been nominated for the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award.

Based on the 13 months between August 26, 2013 and September 17, 2014, the awards committee will take into account performances by players.

That period includes the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, ICC Women's Championship and several bilateral Test, ODI and T20I series.

This year's awards include 11 individual prizes and also feature the selection of ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year. The individual player awards were shortlisted by highly credentialed cricket personalities from around the world, after the long-list nominations were made by a five-person ICC selection panel led by former India captain and Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Anil Kumble.

The winners will be announced via a media release on November 14, while a special TV show will be broadcast on November 15.

LG ICC Awards 2014 (Shortlist of nominees for Individual Awards):

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers (SA), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Angelo Mathews (SL) and Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Angelo Mathews (SL), Kumar Sangakkara (SL) and David Warner (Aus).

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock (SA), AB de Villiers (SA), Virat Kohli (Ind) and Dale Steyn (SA).

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Charlotte Edwards (Eng), Mithali Raj (Ind), Sarah Taylor (Eng) and Stafanie Taylor (WI).

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Corey Anderson (NZ) Gary Ballance (Eng), Jimmy Neesham (NZ) and Ben Stokes (Eng).

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: Calum MacLeod (Scot), Preston Mommsen (Scot), Mohammad Nabi (Afg) and Samiullah Shenwari (Afg).

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Alex Hales (Eng) - 116 not out (64b, 11x4, 6x6) v Sri Lanka (WT20) 27 Mar 2014, Aaron Finch (Aus) - 156 (63b, 11x4, 14x6) v England, 29 August 2013 and Rangana Herath (SL) - 3.3-2-3-5 v NZ (WT20), 31 Mar 2014.

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year: Charlotte Edwards (Eng), Meg Lanning (Aus), Mithali Raj (Ind) and Stafanie Taylor (WI).

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: All 12 members of the ICC Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires have been nominated.

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: To be announced on November 14 via ICC media release.

    Leave a Reply