BPCL shoot out IOC to win Bombay Gold Cup hockey

Nov 17, 2014, 07:19 IST | A Correspondent

Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd were crowned champions of the 49th All-India Bombay Gold Cup Hockey Championship. They beat Indian Oil 10-9 via the shootout in a thrilling final at the Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd Stadium. The scores were tied 5-5 at the end of regulation time. In the shootout, BPCL goalkeeper Swinder Singh thwarted Vikas Sharma, Dharamveer Singh and Gurjinder Singh.

BPCL with their Bombay Gold Cup trophy
BPCL with their Bombay Gold Cup trophy yesterday. Pic/Suresh KK.

The prize-winners...
Best player: Birendra Lakra (BPCL); Best goalkeeper: Adrian D’Souza (AI); Best defender: Gurjinder Singh (IOC); Best midfielder: Manpreet Singh (BPCL); Best forward: Tushar Khandekar (BPCL).

Go to top