Left-handed batsman Khawaja was adjudged caught behind off spinner Graeme Swann for 1 in the first session at Old Trafford on Thursday.
“CA has sought an explanation from the ICC on the dismissal of Usman Khawaja. In our view, the on-field decision and referred decision using Decision Review System (DRS) were both incorrect. CA remains a strong supporter of DRS and believes it is important that cricket continues to improve and build confidence in DRS,” said Sutherland.
“We understand and accept that from time to time mistakes can be made. However in this instance we feel duty bound to seek further explanation as to how this decision was arrived at.”
20 Oscar facts: Interesting trivia about the Academy Awards
Photos: Alia Bhatt, Sunny Deol at an event in Mumbai
Photos: Akshay Kumar, Taapsee Pannu promote 'Naam Shabana'
Flashback: When sexy models sizzled in bikinis at Tokyo fashion show
Photos: These Indian cities top the list in online purchase of sex products