Cash-for-votes: BJP MP Ashok Argal booked

Oct 03, 2011, 17:23 IST | Agencies

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Ashok Argal was Monday made an accused in a second supplementary charge sheet filed in a court here by Delhi Police in the 2008 cash-for-votes scam that rocked parliament during a trust vote.

Special Judge Sangita Dhingra Sehgal took cognizance of the charge sheet and issued a notice to Argal for Oct 14.

Police filed the charge sheet three days after getting permission from Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar for prosecuting Argal, a BJP MP from Bhind in Madhya Pradesh.

Six people, including former Samajwadi Party leader Amar Singh and Sudheendra Kulkarni, former aide of senior BJP leader L.K. Advani, have been arrested in the case.

Police filed the first supplementary charge sheet in the court Sep 30.

Argal was one of the three BJP MPs who waved wads of currency notes in the Lok Sabha during a trust vote July 22, 2008, caused by the withdrawal of Left parties' support to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's government over the India-US civil nuclear deal.

The other two BJP leaders - Faggan Singh Kulaste and Mahavir Singh Bhagora - are no longer MPs and are in jail.

A case was registered in 2009 on the recommendation of a parliamentary panel that probed the issue.

Go to top