Chiwetel Ejiofor to be honoured at British Independent Film Awards

Los Angeles: Actor Chiwetel Ejifor will receive the Richard Harris Award at the British Independent Film Awards in London.

The Moet British Independent Film Awards said Tuesday that Ejiofor, 38, will be honored with award at this year's ceremony on December 6 at Old Billingsgate in London, said The Hollywood Reporter.

The Richard Harris Award was introduced in 2002 in honour of Harris and recognises outstanding contribution to British film by an actor.

The award is bestowed upon Ejiofor "in recognition of his exceptional service to the film industry, not just here in the UK but internationally as an ambassador for British film," the organisation said.

Previous winners include John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, Michael Gambon, Julie Walters and Emma Thompson.



    Leave a Reply