The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) will abstain from voting for the two seats from Mumbai in the biennial State legislative Council elections slated to be held at the end of the month.

A statement from the Raj Thackeray-led party which has 28 corporators said it will not support any of the candidates.

State Environment Minister Ramdas Kadam of Shiv Sena, Bhai Jagtap of Congress, Manoj Kotak of BJP and Prasad Lad, NCP rebel are in fray for the 2 seats.

Tommorrow is the last date of withdrawal of papers.

Polling for elections to eight seats of the Legislative Council from the self-government bodies in Maharashtra would be held on December 27.

The term of following Legislative Council members ends on January 1, 2016 - Amrish Patel (Dhule-Nandurbar), Mahadev Mahadik (Kolhapur), Rajendra Mulak (Nagpur) and Bhai Jagtap (Mumbai) - all from Congress.

Two Shiv Sena members - state Environment Minister Ramdas Kadam (Mumbai) and Gopikishan Bajoria (Akola Washim Buldhana) - will also retire on the same day.

NCP's Deepak Salunke (Solapur) and NCP backed Independent Arun Jagtap (Ahmednagar) will also retire on January 1.

There are a total of 227 corporators in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) who will elect two MLCs.