Counting for Maharashtra municipal, ZP polls begins

Feb 17, 2012, 10:38 IST | PTI

Counting of votes for the 10 municipal corporations, including Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation, and 27 zilla parishads in Maharashtra, began this morning.

While the municipal corporation polls were held yesterday, elections to 27 zilla parishads and 309 Panchayat Samitis were held on February 7.

In Mumbai, 2,232 candidates were in the fray for 227 electoral wards in the city.

Elections were also held yesterday in Thane, Pune, Ulhasnagar, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Nashik, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur municipal corporations.

The Shiv Sena-BJP combine rules the country's richest civic body of Mumbai besides neighbouring Thane (130), Ulhasnagar(78), Nashik (122) and Nagpur (145), whereas Congress controls Amravati (87), the Congress-NCP combine Pune (152) and Solapur (102). NCP holds Pimpri-Chinchwad civic body (126) and Congress Amravati (87).

Akola municipal corporation has 73 seats and was under Congress-NCP rule but was dissolved by state government last year over financial irregularities.

Go to top