Railways announce cash reward of Rs. 13 lakh each for its women's cricketers
Union Sports Minister Vijay Goel with India women's cricket team at a felicitating event, at his residence in New Delhi on Thursday. Pic/PTI 

Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu on Thursday announced a cash award of Rs 13 lakh for each of the 10 women's cricketers employed with his department for their inspiring show at the World Cup.

Indian women's team ended runners-up at the ICC event, narrowly losing the title clash to hosts England. The Minister made the announcement at a felicitation
function for the cricketers. "Ten women from the Indian cricket team were from the Railways. It was captained by Mithali Raj who is from Railways and was the highest run scorer.

Harmanpreet Kaur is ours and so is the wicket keeper (Sushma Verma)," Railway Minister, Suresh Prabhu said. At present, Indian Railways has 20 Padma Shris, 4 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardees, 158 Arjuna awardees, 9 Dhyanchand awardees, 7 Dronacharya awardees and 2 Rashtriya Khel Protsahan puraskar in its kitty.