PrevNext

Dhoni deliberately pushed and shouldered Mustafizur: ICC

Unimpressed ICC match referee Andy Pycroft docks India skipper 75% of his match fee while Bangladesh pacer is penalised 50%

Mirpur: India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman were fined yesterday for “deliberate physical contact” during the first one-day international between the sides, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said.

The two players were found to have breached the ICC code of conduct relating to “inappropriate and deliberate physical contact between players” on Thursday.


MS Dhoni during the first ODI against Bangladesh yesterday.

The ICC said a hearing was held yesterday morning by match referee Andy Pycroft in which television footage was used. Bangladesh beat India by 79 runs to take 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The incident...
The incident occurred in the 25th over of the match when Dhoni made physical contact with debutant Mustafizur while running between the wicket for a single.

The left-arm fast bowler had to temporarily leave the field after the incident, leaving Nasir Hossain to complete his over. He later returned to complete his five-wicket haul. “My assessment was that Dhoni deliberately pushed and shouldered Mustafizur, which was inappropriate,” Pycroft said in an ICC statement.


Mustafizur Rahman. Pics/AFP

The match referee said he had fined Dhoni 75 per cent of his match fee because “cricket is a non-contact sport and the players are expected to avoid physical contact at all times.”

He said Mustafizur had initially pleaded not guilty but later changed his plea and accepted the sanction. “Mustafizur was fined 50 per cent of his match fee after he admitted that his actions in not getting out of the batsman’s way were inappropriate and he should have done more to avoid the contact,” Pycroft said. 

Captains cool about collision

Mirpur: Both Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mahendra Singh Dhoni said they do not wish to make a big deal out of the collision between Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman and the India skipper in the middle of the pitch.  “The bowler (Mustafizur) thought I would move away while I thought he would. But as none of us did, we collided. This can happen in any match. It’s nothing big," said Dhoni. Mashrafe also said he would not drag the issue through the mud. — IANS

You May Like

MORE FROM JAGRAN

0 Comments

    Leave a Reply