Dhoni expresses doubts over Dravid dismissal

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni expressed his reservations on the accuracy of the Decision Review System after his team's senior batsman Rahul Dravid was controversially adjudged caught behind in the rain-hit first ODI against England here Saturday.


Dravid was dismissed on 2 after third umpire Marais Erasmus overturned the decision made by on-field umpire Billy Doctrove, who had rejected Stuart Broad's appeal of a caught behind. The Hot Spot technology failed to detect an edge of Dravid's bat but Erasmus went with his judgement to put the decision in the bowler's favour.

His captain Dhoni was clearly not amused with the questionable decision. "I still exactly don't know how he was given out," Dhoni told reporters. "Whether they used Snickometer, whether Snickometer is allowed to be used, whether the audio technician gave him out, whether the third umpire gave him out. So it is quite complex.

There is a fair amount of questions when it comes to the DRS and if there is still some doubt, why shouldn't go to the batsman."

Dhoni revealed that Dravid told him that he did not edge the ball.

"He said he had not edged it. There was no mark when it comes to Hot Spot. There was no visual deflection as such. And the umpire had given not out. I thought the benefit of doubt goes to the batsman. That is a big thing."

The second match of the five-match series will take place at Southampton on Tuesday.

You May Like



    Leave a Reply