Elections 2014: Akali Dal-BJP leads in 6, AAP 4, Congress 3 in Punjab

May 16, 2014, 16:16 IST | PTI

Chandigarh: The SAD-BJP combine is leading in six seats out of 13 in Punjab while new entrant Aam Aadmi Party is set to create history as it is ahead in four seats as against three by Congress.

Live results: LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 NEWS for complete coverage

Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP, fighting its maiden Lok Sabha election, is leading in four seats - Sangrur, Faridkot (r), Fatehgarh Sahib (r) and Patiala, election office said.

Shiromani Akali Dal is leading in four seats of Anandpur Sahab, Bhatinda, Ferozepur and Khadoor Sahab while its ally BJP is leading in Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur. Congress is leading in the remaining three seats -- Ludhiana, Jalandhar and Amritsar.

In his maiden Lok Sabha election, Jaitley lost by over 60,000 votes from Amarinder Singh of Congress in Amritsar. Comedian-turned-politician Bhagwant Mann of AAP has taken an unassailable lead of over 1.5 lakh votes against SAD's Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa in Sangrur Lok Sabha seat.

Sitting MP Vijay Inder Singla of Congress was trailing at third place. Besides, AAP's Prof Sadhu Singh too is leading by a comfortable margin of over 74,886 votes against SAD's Paramjeet Kaur Gulshan in Faridkot (r). AAP's Harinder Singh Khalsa and Dharamvira Gandhi are leading in Fatehgarh Sahib (r) and Patiala seats respectively. Khalsa is leading by 32,695 votes over Congress rival and sitting MLA Sadhu Singh while Gandhi is ahead of SAD's Deepinder Singh Dhillon by 1,636 votes from Patiala where Union Minister Preneet Kaur is on third place.

Meanwhile, actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna of BJP is maintaining an unassailable lead over Punjab Congress chief Partap Singh Bajwa in Gurdaspur seat. He is leading by a margin of 60,201 votes as per trends till noon.

In Hoshiarpur (r) seat, BJP's Vijay Sampla is ahead of Congress Mohinder Singh Kaypee by 11,273 votes. Congress veteran Ambika Soni is trailing behind SAD's Prem Singh Chandumajra in Anandpur Sahib while Sher Singh Ghubaya has taken an unassailable lead of over 35,000 votes against Congress leader Sunil Kumar Jakhar in Ferozepur. Chandumajra is leading by a margin of 19,249 votes against Soni.

In Bathinda seat, SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal is ahead of her cousin and Congress leader Manpreet Singh Badal, an estranged nephew of chief minister Parkash Singh Badal by a margin of 10,921 votes. Veteran Akali leader Ranjeet Singh Brahmpura is also comfortably place against Congress Harminder Singh Gill in Khadoor Sahib.

He is leading by 42,537 votes against Gill. Congress is comfortably placed in Jalandhar (r) seat where Santokh Singh Choudhary is leading by 57,633 votes against SAD's Pawan Kumar Teenu while late Chief Minister Beant Singh's grandson Ravneet Singh Bittu is leading by around 2,000 votes against AAP's Harvinder Singh Phoolka. 

Kirron Kher of the BJP also prevailed over Pawan Bansal of the Congress and Gul Panag of the Aam Aadmi Party from Chandigarh. 

Go to top