Elections 2014: Mulayam Singh wins in Mainpuri, President's son retains Jangipur

May 16, 2014, 17:07 IST | PTI

Lucknow / Kolkata: Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav today won the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat trouncing his nearest BJP rival Shatrughan Singh Chauhan by a huge margin of 1,95,025 votes.

Live results: LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 NEWS for complete coverage

Mulayam Singh Yadav
Mulayam Singh Yadav won from Mainpuri

On the other hand, the Jangipur seat was retained by Abhijit Mukherjee, son of president Pranab Mukherjee by a margin of 8,315 votes over CPI(M)'s Muzaffar Hossain. While Mukherjee polled 3,78,032 votes, Hossain got 3,69,717 votes.

Go to top