Kolkata: Trinamool Congress surged ahead leading in 32 of total 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal in a four-cornered contest with the BJP springing a surprise by forging a lead in three while CPI(M)-led Left Front was ahead in only three, early trends showed.

Live results: LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 NEWS for complete coverage

The Congress is ahead in only four seats, according to trends available till 10 am. TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee's nephew Abhishek Banerjee is leading in the Diamond Harbour seat, while former Union ministers Sougata Roy and Sudip Bandopadhyay of TMC are ahead in Dum Dum and Kolkata Uttar seats respectively.

Former Railway minister and TMC candidate Dinesh Trivedi is leading from Barrackpur. Singer Babul Supriyo of BJP is ahead in Asansol, while two other saffron party candidates S S Ahluwalia and B B Oraon are leading from Darjeeling and Alipurduar in north Bengal respectively.

Veteran CPI(M) leader in the outgoing 15th Lok Sabha Basudeb Acharya is leading from Bankura for his tenth term. Union ministers Adhir Chowdhury, Deepa Dasmunshi and A H Khan Chowdhury are leading from Baharampur, Raiganj and Maldah Dakhsin for the Congress.