Five states get new governors

New Delhi: The government Monday appointed new governors in Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Gujarat and Nagaland.

They are:
Ram Naik (Uttar Pradesh),
Balramji Dass Tandon (Chhattisgarh),
Keshari Nath Tripathi (West Bengal),
Om Prakash Kohli (Gujarat) and
Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya (Nagaland), the Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

An official communique said the appointments of Naik, Tandon, Tripathi and Kohli "will take effect from the dates (they) assume charge of their offices".

A separate communique said Acharya has also been asked to discharge the functions of the governor of Tripura, where incumbent Vakkom Purushothaman has resigned.

You May Like


    Leave a Reply