Leeds (England): Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has revealed he disagrees with the ruling that allowed him to make a sensational boundary catch against England at Headingley.
Australia's Glenn Maxwell catches England's Liam Plunkett during the fourth ODI on Friday. Pic/Getty Images
Maxwell underlined his reputation as one of the most remarkable out-fielders in the world in the fourth Royal London one-day international, producing a stunning take to dismiss Liam Plunkett.
Racing backwards he caught then released the ball before stepping over the rope, steadying himself then leaping back up to reclaim the ball before landing back inside the boundary.
Before a law change in 2013 that would have led to a 'not out' verdict because players had to catch the ball while within the field of play.
That was altered because the MCC wanted to encourage athletic catches but, despite being a beneficiary, Maxwell felt more comfortable with the old interpretation. "I don't think it makes a whole lot of sense.
I think you should have to get back into the boundary. I think if you look at the basketball rules you have to jump from inside to throw it back in, you can't jump up in the air and catch it on the way back in," Maxwell said.
In pictures: Bend it like Mumbai yogini Natasha Noel
Photos: Varun, Taapsee, Jacqueline promote 'Judwaa 2' on 'Dance Plus 3'
Instagram's newest sensation: Check out these photos of Bruna Abdullah
Photos: This is how Chitrangda Singh looks without make-up
Photos: Malaika Arora parties wearing see-through lace dress