Goa dismiss Tripura for 61 on day 1 of Ranji Trophy

Porvorim: A brilliant bowling performance helped Goa to skittle out Tripura for a paltry 61 in their first innings on the opening day of a Group C Ranji Trophy cricket match here yesterday.

RR Singh scalped three wickets, while P Parameswaran (2/27), S B Jakati (2/14) and DW Misal (2/1) took two wickets each and Amit Yadav snapped one as Goa took the opening day honours here. In reply, Goa were left tottering at 77 for three at tea as the top three batsmen -- AS Desai (20), SA Asnodkar (16) and skipper DS Jadhav (16) were sent back to the pavillion at the Goa Cricket Association Academy Ground here.

After the break, Goa added another 84 runs losing two more wickets to end the day at 161 for 5. At the draw of stumps, Darshan Misal (28) and Rahul Keni (2) were at the crease. Sagun Kamat (45) was the top scorer for Goa in their first innings, while Snehal Kauthankar (30) was the second best scorer for them.

For Tripura, Rakesh Solanki (2/31) picked two wickets, while Rana Dutta (1/32), AK Sarkar (1/24) and TS Saha (1/49) snapped one each at the Goa Cricket Association Academy Ground here. Earlier, Tripura captain Abhijit Dey's decision to bat first backfired as apart from opener Subhrajit Roy (13) and KK Acharjee (20) none of the other batsmen could reach doubles figures.

Brief Score:
Tripura 1st innings: 61 all out in 31.5 overs (KK Acharjee 20; RR Singh 3/17) Goa 1st innings: 161 for 5 in 53 overs (S kamat 45; R Solanki 2/31)

    Leave a Reply