IAAF adopts tenure limit for President

Aug 20, 2015, 07:34 IST | PTI

Mumbai: World athletics body IAAF yesterday adopted the tenure limit rule for its future presidents by which no head of the organisation can serve more than three four-year terms.

This means that newly elected President Sebastian Coe cannot remain in power for more than 12 years at a stretch. The 50th IAAF Congress took this decision on the first day of its sitting in the Chinese National Convention Centre in Beijing, an IAAF release stated.

Yet another proposal passed by the Congress was that IAAF Council candidates, who reached the age of 70 during year of an election congress, cannot be elected or re-elected.

Adille Sumariwalla, who heads the Athletics Federation of India, was among the candidates elected to the Council yesterday. Elections for the President, Vice Presidents (4 seats), Treasurer, Female Individual Council Members (6), Individual Council Members (9) and the four Committees of the IAAF (Technical, Women's, Race Walking and Cross Country) took place.

Other decisions included amendments to the IAAF Competitions Rules relating to the sections concerning Eligibility, Anti-Doping and Medical, Disputes and Technical. Reports were submitted by the four Committees of the IAAF, the 13 Commissions, the six Area Group Associations as well as reports from the Organising Committees of the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 and Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Full membership of the IAAF was confirmed for the federations of Kosovo and South Sudan while the federation of Gabon was suspended, as per the release. Yet another proposal passed by the Congress was that out of the four Vice Presidents, there has to be a minimum of one from each gender.

Go to top