ICC grants Afghanistan and Ireland Test team status

Jun 23, 2017, 08:36 IST | AFP

Afghanistan player. Pic/AFP
Afghanistan player. Pic/AFP

Ireland and Afghanistan have both been awarded Test match status, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced yesterday. The move, which means the two countries become full members of the ICC expands the number of Test-playing nations from 10 to 12. Both countries were confirmed as full members after a unanimous vote at an ICC Council meeting in London.

It means their men’s teams will now be eligible to play five-day Test cricket, regarded as the sport’s pinnacle format, following a recommendation that their applications met member criteria.

It’s been almost two decades since Bangladesh became the last country to be granted Test status. But Afghanistan and Ireland have now joined an exclusive club that also includes founder members Australia and England, who played the first Test match at Melbourne in 1877.

Trending Video

Virender Sehwag's hilarious tweets make you laugh out loud


Download the new mid-day android app to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go https://goo.gl/8Xlcvr

Go to top