Sydney: West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels will not be sanctioned over a "throat-slitting" gesture he made in his team's World Cup win over Zimbabwe, a source told AFP on Thursday.
Samuels appeared to run his thumb from one side of his throat to the other to mark his century in Tuesday's 73-run victory. "The match officials have seen the incident and have decided not to lay a charge," said a source.
Marlon Samuels. Pic/ AFP
However, it's understood that the match referee did have an informal talk to the West Indian regarding the matter.
Samuels made an undefeated 133 and shared a 372-run stand with Chris Gayle, who became the first double centurion in World Cup history, in the Pool B game at Canberra's Manuka Oval.
Photos: Swara Bhaskar, Sonali Kulkarni at Jagran Film Festival awards
Pics: Shahid Kapoor's transformation from chocolate boy to hottie
Photos: Kareena Kapoor Khan and Aamir Khan at Mumbai airport
Photos: SRK, wife Gauri, Aishwarya Rai, Shweta Bachchan at Vogue Awards
Photos: Harbhajan Singh-Geeta Basra's TV outing with daughter Hinaya