PrevNext

ICC World Cup: Mortaza makes displeasure clear without upsetting ICC

Melbourne: Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza tried to stay away from controversy in the fear of drawing the International Cricket Council's ire, but made his intentions clear when he was questioned about a couple of umpiring decisions that went against his team yesterday.

Mashrafe Mortaza
Mashrafe Mortaza 

First, a Suresh Raina leg-before decision off his own bowling was turned down by the umpire following which Mortaza promptly called for a referral. Raina was on just 10 then, but the referral showed that the ball had pitched outside leg and the umpire's decision stood. Raina went on to score 65.

Then in the 40th over, Rohit Sharma, batting on 90, lofted a high full toss off Rubel Hossain only to be caught at deep mid-wicket. However, the umpires found the delivery to be above waist high and adjudicated it a no-ball which TV replays suggested otherwise. Rohit went on to score 137.

At the post-match press conference, when posed with the question of incorrect umpiring decision, Mortaza first said: "Everyone saw what happened in the middle. I don't want to say anything about this (umpiring decisions)."

Answering a follow-up question on the same issue, Mortaza opened up a bit more, claiming that Rohit's early departure could have helped his team's cause. "It (Rohit's wicket) could have made the match more competitive.

Against India, we know that we have to take wickets, otherwise it is going to be very difficult. At that stage, if Rohit would have got out, it would have been great, but I think I can't say anything in here. You all saw what happened in the middle," he added even as he went on to praise both Rohit and Raina for their respective knocks.

"Raina is always effective and Rohit was brilliant today. He got a great hundred, so both of them were really good," Mortaza said.

You May Like

MORE FROM JAGRAN

0 Comments

    Leave a Reply