ICC World Cup: Sorry MS Dhoni, you can't take the stumps and bails

Melbourne: Everyone is aware of Mahendra Singh Dhoni's penchant for collecting stumps as souvenirs after every India win but just like last year's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh, he won't be able to collect any during the ongoing ODI World Cup irrespective of his team's victories.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni 

The World Cup in Australia and New Zealand again has the LED stumps, which are touch-sensitive and blink whenever the bails get whipped off.

Just after India completed their win against arch-rivals Pakistan yesterday at the Adelaide Oval, Dhoni took one of the bails but then Ian Gould, who was the square leg umpire, had a friendly chat with him after which one saw the bail remaining where it is.

The specific reason being that these set of 'LED stumps' cost USD 40,000 (Rs 24 lakh) and the pair of bails costs as much as Rs 50,000 approximately.

So Dhoni won't be able to keep any of these bails or stumps unless there is an official permission from the ICC in this regard.

The 'LED stumps' were first used during the 2013 edition of 'Big Bash' after which they were used on an experimental basis at the World T20 in Bangladesh, where the response was pretty positive.

"Well, this is a very costly system. The entire set-up during a match costs USD 40,000 (Rs 25 Lakh approx), so I don't allow the players to uproot it during any celebrations," EcKermann, the inventor of LED stumps, had told PTI in Mirpur.

That Eckermann and ICC are strict about it can be gauged from the fact that all the patented stumps and bails are kept intact. It had taken almost three years of research from Eckermann to give his dream a shape.

Eckermann, along with David Leigitwood as a commercial partner, formed Zing International and sold his idea to Cricket Australia.

You May Like



  • Shayan Das19-Mar-2015

    Its really costly stump set.Dhoni made a habit to taking stump after finish match.may be it is a remembrance of those wining matchs.but the system is becoming modern and such a great captain have to leave the habit.....??

Leave a Reply