Perth: The manner in which the Australian cricket system preserves and propagates its cricketing history is highly appreciable. Almost all venues have their own respective museums with photographs, memorabilia and statistics.

The manual scoreboard bearing the 'Team of the Century' at the WACA. Pic/Ashwin Ferro
The manual scoreboard bearing the 'Team of the Century' at the WACA. Pic/Ashwin Ferro 

The Adelaide Oval had its version of the Bradman Museum, where some of the Don's bats, caps and even jackets were on display. The Melbourne Cricket Ground also showcased its history through a similar museum at its premises.

Ditto with the Western Australia Cricket Association (WACA) Ground at Perth here. There is one interesting addition. On the giant manual scoreboard near one of the grass mound stands by the river southside, they have put up the names of the 12 best players to have represented Western Australia in the past.

According to a ground staff member, the names are put up on the scoreboard throughout the year on non-match days so that Western Australians remember the contributions of their great cricketers.

The list is proudly titled Team of the Century, and goes like this: Openers Geoff Marsh and Graeme Wood are followed by Justin Langer at No 3. Then John Inverarity, Kim Hughes, David Shepherd and Tom Moody form an awesome foursome middle-order.

Bruce Yardley is the only tweaker in the team with Rodney Marsh as wicketkeeper. The side boasts of two brilliant pacers in Dennis Lillee and Graham McKenzie. Such was the talent at WACA's disposal that a player of Terry Alderman's nature has been reduced to carrying drinks, as 12th man.