Indian Olympic sports in best-of-three mess

The three lists have a couple of common names but they are all waiting to hear from the IOC which of the lists or a common panel would be acceptable to the apex body of Olympic sports.

Senior IOA officials feel that the IOC might accept the list sent by Vijay Kumar Malhotra as his is the IOC-recognised National Olympic Committee (NOC).

Curiously, the government wanted to pack its delegation with active sportspersons, but only Abhinav Bindra and sailor Malav Shroff have accepted the ministry’s invitation.

The sports ministry delegation comprises Minister Jitendra Singh, secretary Pradeep Kumar Deb, Anil Kumar Singh (OSD to minister), India’s first individual Olympic medallist Abhinav Bindra and Olympian sailor Malav Shroff.

“The IOC, conventional wisdom tells us, should recognise the panel proposed by Malhotra, more so because the members are all vastly experienced Olympic officials,” said the official not wanting to be named.

You May Like



    Leave a Reply