Indian women's hockey team lost 1-3 to Argentina in the inaugural of the Four-nation tournament in the Argentine city Parana.

India failed to score any goal in the first half while the hosts scored twice. Josefina Sruoga (11th min), Delfina Merino (22nd) and Rosario Luchetti (51st) scored for Argentina. Rani (39th min) pulled one back.


Argentina controlled the proceedings in the first half with good all round display. They denied the Indian midfielders Kirandeep Kaur, Rittu Rani and skipper Asunta Lakra from maneuvering openings for forwards Vandana Katariya,
Poonam Rani, T.H. Anuradha and Rani.

India, however, put up an improved display in the second half as strikers penetrated regularly into the Argentine danger area.

Goalkeeper Laura Del Colle and defenders Florencia Habif, Silvina D'Elia and captain Noel Barrionuevo stood tall.

Rani eventually broke through in the 39th minute from a move coordinated by Ritu Rani and Vandana Katariya to slot home India's only goal.

In another match, South Africa were held by Ireland 2-2. India will now play Ireland.