Indian youth athletics team leaves for Asian Championships

May 06, 2015, 16:25 IST | PTI

New Delhi: A 22-member Indian team, including nine girls, left New Delhi On Wednesday to participate in the inaugural Asian Youth Athletics Championships in Doha, Qatar, from May 8-11.

The Indian team consisting of nine girls and 13 boys is expected to be one of the largest contingents in the event.

Up and coming talent like Beant Singh in 800 metres, Jisna Mathew (200m and 400m), a trainee under legendary P T Usha, high jumper Tejaswin Shankar, hammer throwers Abhishek Drall and Ashish Jakhar are some of the athletes in the team who shot into the limelight at the national level last year.

The first Asian Youth Athletics Championship will witness more than 400 athletes from more than 40 countries, along with 170 coaches, support staff and medical staff to back them up.

The members of the Indian youth team were selected on the basis of performance at the National Youth Championships held in Goa last month, which was followed by a week-long training camp at SAI Centre at Sonepat.

The Indian youth team has a packed calendar this year, with the World Youth Championships and the Commonwealth Youth Games slated to be held later this year.

On the eve of the India youth team's departure, Athletics Federation of India President Adille J Sumariwalla said, "The youth programme is an integral and key component of AFI's overall training programme to produce elite athletes who can excel at Olympics and also popularise athletics amongst the masses. I extend my best wishes to all the 22 participants and the coaches for the 1st Asian Youth Athletics Championships."

The Indian Youth Team:
Girls: Aleesha Panachikkal Raju, Anumol Thampi (3000m), Durga Pramod Deore (1500m), Jisna Mathew (200m & 400m), Sayana Prabhakaran Omana (400m H), Seema (discus throw), Tiasha Samadder (400m H), Laimwn Narzary (high jump), Sonal Goyal (shot put & discus throw).

Boys: Abhishek Drall (javelin throw), Ashish Bhalothia (shot put), Ashish Jakhar (hammer throw), Beant Singh (800m), Chandan Bauri (200m & 400m), Kishan Narshi Tadvi (3000m), Meraj Ali (hammer throw), Mohd Hadeesh (javelin throw), Nuzrat (100m), Sonu Kumar (long and triple jump), Tejaswin Shankar (high jump), Rajesh Ramasamy (decathlon) and Chirag (200m).

Chief Coach: Wazir Singh; Coaches: Jaipal Singh and Renu (Bala) Kohli.

Go to top