IPL 2017 Final: Mumbai lift trophy for 3rd time with thrilling 1-run win over Pune

May 21, 2017, 23:25 IST | mid-day online correspondent

Mumbai Indians were crowned the new IPL champions following their thrilling one-run win over Rising Pune Supergiant in the summit clash on Sunday night

Jasprit BumrahMumbai Indians Jasprit Bumrah celebrates the wicket of M S Dhoni during the IPL 10 Final match between Rising Pune Supergiants and Mumbai Indians in Hyderabad on Sunday. Pic/PTI

Mumbai Indians survived the battle of nerves as they came back from the dead to beat Rising Pune Supergiant by one run to lift the Indian Premier League 2017 Trophy.

Chasing a meagre 130 to win, Pune were on target to overcome the target thanks to superlative knocks by opener Ajinkya Rahane, who scored 44 off 38 deliveries with 5 boundaries and Smith who hit 51 off 50 balls, that included two boundaries and equal number of sixes. But Mumbai's bowlers never gave up and managed to defend the small target as well Pune fell agonisingly short by one run.

Mitchell Johnson and Jasprit Bumrah were the stars for Mumbai. Jonhson who bowled the final over with Pune needing 11 runs. But the Aussie managed to hold on and ensured Mumbai claimed the IPL title for the third time.

Supergiant could manage 128 for six in 20 overs with Johnson taking two wickets in the final over.

Earlier, RPS stifled Mumbai to 129 for 8 riding on commendable bowling effort.

The two-time champions were completely off-colour with the willow as they played an astounding 54 dot balls (9 maiden overs) in 20 overs, a testimony to their plight. 

Save Krunal Pandya (47 off 38 balls), who watched helplessly from the other end, none of the MI batsmen showed judiciousness expected on the grand stage. It was because of Krunal's late hitting (three fours and two sixes) that MI managed to reach close to 130 after being reduced to 79 for 7.

Mumbai Indians players celebrate after winning the IPL 10 Final match against Rising Pune Supergiants in Hyderabad on Sunday. PTIMumbai Indians players celebrate after winning the IPL 10 Final match against Rising Pune Supergiants in Hyderabad on Sunday. Pic/PTI 

Jaydev Unadkat's (2/19 in 4 overs) dream edition just got better as he dealt twin blows in the third over removing both Parthiv Patel (4) and Lendl Simmons (3) within a space of three deliveries. 

Patel mistimed a pull-shot that was taken by Shardul Thakur at mid-on while Simmons was foxed by a slower one which Unadkat smartly snapped inches off the surface. 

At 8 for 2, Mumbai's most seasoned pair of skipper Rohit Sharma (24) and Ambati Rayudu (12) came together. However they couldn't get going with Washington Sundar (0/13 in 4 overs) again proving to be exceptional during the Powerplay overs.

The 17-year-old bowled 15 dot balls in all -- bowling two in Powerplays and two during the middle overs. Mumbai were under pressure at 16 for 2 in 5 overs before Rohit picked up Lockie Ferguson for some special treatment, hitting four boundaries to get a move on. 

But it wasn't long before Rayudu was found short failing to beat Steve Smith's direct throw.

The MI skipper would be cursing himself as it was a half-tracker from Adam Zampa (2/32 in 4 overs) which he pulled to mid-wicket fence where Shardul Thakur showed fantastic balance while latching onto a well-judged catch. 

Kieron Pollard (7) hit a first-ball six off Zampa but that encouraged the leggie to again flight one outside the off-stump. Pollard took the bait and as has been the case with him was taken in deep by Manoj Tiwary.

At 56 for 5, Mumbai Indians didn't have any chance of recovery. Pandya brothers have had a good tournament but on the day when it mattered most, Hardik played across the line to Dan Christian to be adjudged leg-before.

Shardul once again showed street smartness as he backed up at the striker's end after Karn Sharma's catch was missed by Christian. But his throw saw Shardul racing past Karn to dislodge the bails leaving MI shattered at 79 for 7.

(With Agency Inputs)

IPL final: Mumbai vs Pune scoreboard

Mumbai Indians

Lendl Simmons c & b Unadkat 3
Parthiv Patel c Thakur b Unadkat 4
Ambati Rayudu run out (Smith) 12
Rohit Sharma c Thakur b Zampa 24
Krunal Pandya c Rahane b Christian 47
Kieran Pollard c Tiwary b Zampa 7
Hardik Pandya lbw b Christian 10
Karn Sharma run out (Christian/Thakur) 1
Mitchell Johnson not out 13

Extras (b 1, lb 2, w 5) 8

Total (8 wickets; 20 overs) 129

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Patel, 2.1 overs), 2-8 (Simmons, 2.4), 3-41 (Rayudu, 7.2), 4-56 (Rohit Sharma, 10.1), 5-65 (Pollard, 10.6), 6-78 (Hardik Pandya, 13.2), 7-79 (Karn Sharma, 14.1), 8-129 (Krunal Pandya, 19.6).


Jaydev Unadkat 4-0-19-2
Washington Sundar 4-0-13-0
Shardul Thakur 2-0-7-0
Lockie Ferguson 2-0-21-0
Adam Zampa 4-0-32-2
Danie Christian 4-0-34-2

Rising Pune Supergiant

Ajinkya Rahane c Pollard b Johnson 44
Rahul Tripathi lbw b Bumrah 3
Steve Smith c Rayudu b Johnson 51
Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Patel b Bumrah 10
Manoj Tiwary c Pollard b Johnson 7
Daniel Christian run out (Patel) 4
Washington Sundar not out 0

Extras (b 1, lb 5, w 3) 9

Total (6 wickets; 20 overs) 128

Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Tripathi, 2.2 overs), 2-71 (Rahane, 11.5), 3-98 (Dhoni, 16.2), 4-123 (Tiwary, 19.2), 5-123 (Smith, 19.3), 6-128 (Christian, 19.6).


Krunal Pandya 4-0-31-0
Mitchell Johnson 4-0-26-3
Jasprit Bumrah 4-0-26-2
Lasith Malinga 4-0-21-0
Karn Sharma 4-0-18-0

Go to top