IPL 8: No Zaheer Khan for Mumbai Indians; RCB let Yuvraj Singh go

Dec 16, 2014, 08:35 IST | Harit N Joshi

Zaheerr Khan's prolonged time to recover from a shoulder injury has cost him his place with the Mumbai Indians for the eighth edition of the Indian Premier League which will be played from April 8 to May 24, 2015.

Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh

Yesterday was the final day for the franchises to submit the list of players they wish to release for IPL-8.

This is the second blow for the veteran India pacer who was not included in the 30 probables for the 2015 World Cup earlier this month.

The left-arm pacer injured his shoulder during the May 3 Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab match at the Wankhede Stadium in the last IPL. MI had bought Zaheer for Rs 2.6 crore after Royal Challengers Bangalore decided not to retain him during the mega auction for IPL-7.

MI release Ojha too
Left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha is another top cricketer MI have decided to release. MI have also decided not to retain West Indies seamer Krishmar Santoki and Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Dunk. MI had earlier released Praveen Kumar and Michael Hussey.

Meanwhile, Royal Challengers Bangalore have decided to release Yuvraj Singh, IPL-7's most expensive (Rs 14 crore) player. They also released famous names like Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan and Ravi Rampul.

SRH release Sammy
Sunrisers Hyderabad will release skipper Darren Sammy, India leggie Amit Mishra, Aaron Finch, Irfan Pathan, Brendon Taylor and Jason Holder. Chennai Super Kings will be without David Hussey and Ben Hilfenhaus.

Punjab release Pujara
While Kings XI Punjab will let go Cheteshwar Pujara, L Balaji and Murli Kartik, Rajasthan Royals will be without Brad Hodge and Kevon Cooper. KKR released R Vinay Kumar, Manvinder Bisla and Debabrata Das.

Delhi Daredivls will go into the IPL-8 auction with the largest purse of Rs 41 crore while CSK will have the lowest kitty of Rs 5 crore.

Related News

Go to top