IPL 9: Delhi Daredevils release Yuvraj, Sunrisers offload Ishant and Steyn

Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Ishant Sharma and Dale Steyn are among the big names released by their Indian Premier League franchises ahead of the 2016 season

New Delhi: Delhi Daredevils on Thursday predictably released veteran left-hander Yuvraj Singh from their squad while India's pace spearhead Ishant Sharma was off-loaded by Sunrisers Hyderabad in the first trading window for the upcoming 9th season of Indian Premier League (IPL). 

Despite getting back to the Indian team for the T20 leg of the Australian tour, Yuvraj, who was bought for a whopping Rs 16 crore by the GMR-owned franchise, turned out to be the biggest flop with only 248 runs from 14 matches at an average of less than 20 (19.07).

Yuvraj SinghYuvraj Singh

"Yuvraj Singh is a great player and the reason of releasing him is to rationalise our budget. He is in good form now and has got back to the Indian team. But there were budgetary constraints which led to the decision. I have personally spoken to Yuvraj. There are no hard feelings," Daredevils CEO Hemant Dua told PTI today.

In fact, among existing six teams in IPL, Delhi Daredevils will be going into the February auction with a purse of Rs 36.85 to spend on salary of players. 

"We have also released Angelo Mathews. So we are saving around Rs 23 crores (as mathews was bought for Rs 7 crore)," said Dua.

South Africa speedster Dale Steyn was also released by Hyderabad after he picked up just three wickets in six matches in IPL 8.

Some of the other prominent players to be released are Kings XI Punjab's last year's captain and former Aussie skipper George Bailey. Another former captain to bite the dust was West Indies' Darren Sammy, who was released by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Former India spinner Pragyan Ojha, Australian paceman Josh Hazlewood were released by Mumbai Indians. 

Veteran Zaheer Khan has been retained by DD as this will be his farewell season, where he would perhaps play a few games here and there but will don the bigger role of mentoring the pace bowlers of the Delhi team including one of India's premier fast bowlers in Mohammed Shami. 

Two of the Bengal boys Manoj Tiwary (DD) and Ashoke Dinda (RCB) have been released by their respective franchises but there are chances that both might be picked by Pune Franchise during the auction.

Kedar Jadhav is the only player, who has been traded during this window with Daredevils selling him to RCB.

Most of the teams have been able to retain their core set-up.

KKR have Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa in their set-up, KXIP have retained David Miller, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson for the next season.

Similarly, Mumbai Indians will have Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, who have been with them for years now. 

RCB also kept their core unit tight with skipper Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle in the team.

In all, Daredevils have released 10 players while KXIP and Sunrisers released eight including Virender Sehwag, who has already called it quits. 

RCB have released the maximum of 14 players while Mumbai Indians and KKR released 10 players each.

With DD going into the auction with Rs 36.85 crore, Sunrisers are second in the list with Rs 30.15 crores. Mumbai Indians, who have retained a maximum of 19 players, have the least purse of Rs 14.405 crore.

KKR with 15 retentions are second lowest in terms of purse at Rs 17.95 crore. KXIP and RCB are left with Rs 23 crore and Rs 21.625 crore purse, respectively.

The two new franchises -- Intex Rajkot and Sanjeev Goenka's Pune franchise -- have Rs 27 crore to shop from the auctions having picked up five players each from banned Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) during the players draft held in Mumbai, earlier this month.

The other players who were released by the six franchises are:

Delhi Daredevils: C.M. Gautam, Domnic Joseph Muthuswamy, Jaydev Unadkat, K.K. Jiyaz, Kona Srikar Bharat, Manoj Tiwary, Angelo Mathews, Gurinder Sandhu and Marcus Stoinis.

Kings XI Punjab: Karanveer Singh, Parvinder Awana, Shivam Sharma, Yogesh Golwalkar, Beuran Hendricks, George Bailey and Thisara Perera.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Veer Pratap Singh, Aditya Garhwal, K.C Cariappa, Sumit Narwal, Vaibhav Rawal, Patrick Cummins, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Neesham, Azhar Mahmood and Johan Botha.

Mumbai Indians: Aditya Tare, Abhimanyu Mithun, Pawan Suyal, Pragyan Ojha, Aiden Blizzard, Aaron Finch, Alex Hales, Ben Hilfenhaus, Colin Munro and Josh Hazlewood.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Vijay Zol, Ashok Dinda, Dinesh Karthik, Iqbal Abdullah, Jalaj Saxena, Manvinder Bisla, Sandeep Warrier, Shishir Bhavane, Subramaniam Badrinath, Yogesh Takawale, Nic Maddinson, Darren Sammy, Rilee Rossouw and Sean Abbott.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Chama Milind, Gade Hanuma Vihari, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Prasanth Padmanabhan, Praveen Kumar, Kevin Pietersen and Ravi Bopara.

On the other hand, as many as 101 Indian players including 37 overseas stars were retained by the franchises.

Delhi Daredevils: Amit Mishra, Jayant Yadav, Mayank Agarwal, Mohammad Shami, Saurabh Tiwary, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreyas Iyer, Zaheer Khan, Albie Morkel, Imran Tahir, Jean-Paul Duminy, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Quinton de Kock, Travis Head.

Kings XI Punjab: Akshar Rajesh Patel, Anureet Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manan Vohra, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Shankar Naik, Rishi Dhawan, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Narendra Thakur, Wriddhiman Saha, David Miller, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir, Kuldeep Singh Yadav, Manish Pandey, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa, Sheldon Jackson, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Andre Russell, Brad Hogg, Chris Lynn, Morne Morkel, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine.

Mumbai Indians: Akshay Wakhare, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Hardik Pandya, J. Suchitch, Jasprit Bumrah, Nitish Rana, Parthiv Patel, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Gopal, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Unmukt Chand, Corey Anderson, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Lendl Simmons, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Abu Nechim Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Kedar Jadhav, Mandeep Hardev Singh, Sarfaraz Naushad Khan, Sreenath Arvind, Varun Aaron, Virat Kohli, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, AB de Villers, Adam Milne, Chris Gayle, David Wiese, Mitchell Starc.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Ashish Reddy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Bipul Sharma, Karn Sharma, K.L. Rahul, Naman Ojha, Parvez Rasool, Ricky Bhui, Shikhar Dhawan, Siddharth Kaul, David Warner, Eoin Morgan, Kane Williamson, Moises Henriques, Trent Boult.

Team Pune: Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Faf du Plessis, Steven Smith.

Team Rajkot: Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner.

    Leave a Reply