As the play-offs stage of the Indian Premier League 9 season begin today, we take a look at the four teams who will battle it out for the 2016 title.

Gujarat Lions will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore, while two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders square off against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Here's a statistical lowdown and some facts about IPL 9's big four.

Gujarat Lions:
Captain - Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina. Pic/ AFP

Coach - Brad Hodge
Group stage - finished 1st
Best result - debut season
Leading runscorer - Suresh Raina (397 runs)
Leading wicket taker - Dwayne Bravo (15 wickets)
Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo. Pic/ AFP 

Royal Challengers Bangalore:
Captain - Virat Kohli
Coach - Daniel Vettori
Group stage - finished 2nd
Best result - Runners-up (2009)
Leading runscorer - Virat Kohli (919 runs)
Leading wicket taker - Yuzvendra Chahal (19 wickets)
Yuzvendra Chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal. Pic/ AFP 

Sunrisers Hyderabad:
Captain - David Warner
David Warner
David Warner. (Pic/ AFP)

Coach - Tom Moody
Group stage - finished 3rd
Best result - playoffs (2013)
Leading run scorer - David Warner (658 runs)
Leading wicket taker - Bhuvneshwar Kumar (18 wickets)
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Pic/ AFP 

Kolkata Knight Riders:
Captain - Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir. Pic/ AFP

Coach - Jacques Kallis
Group stage - finished 4th
Best result - Champions (2012, 2014)
Leading run scorer - Gautam Gambhir (473 runs)
Leading wicket taker - Andre Russell (15 wickets).
Andre Russell
Andre Russell. Pic/ AFP 

The IPL final will take place on May 29th, Sunday.