New Delhi: The next edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will be held from April 9 as two new franchisees — Rajkot and Pune — were added to the event as replacements for Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals.

Rajkot and Pune will have draft picks on December 15 and Pune will get to pick the players first.

The tournament will begin five days after conclusion of the ICC World Twenty20 which will also be hosted by India.

The ninth edition of the hugely-popular but controversy-marred League will conclude on May 29. Mumbai will host the IPL season-opener and final as they were the defending champions.