PrevNext

Jacques Kallis' dismissal sparks controversy

Kallis was given out caught at short leg by umpire Steve Davis but the star batsman immediately sought a review, which went to television umpire Billy Bowden.

Jacques Kallis
Jacques Kallis

Replays showed the ball had not touched Kallis’ bat before looping to Azhar Ali.┬áThe events after that were not clear but after numerous replays Kallis was given out LBW after making just two as South Africa struggled to 139 for five in reply to Pakistan’s 338.

Moosajee said he could not comment in detail because there was a code of conduct regarding the decision review system. He said: “All we did was seek clarity from the umpire, which we were happy with.

The rule states that if an umpire has given a batsman out and the batsman appeals, he can be given out for something else.” Kallis appeared astonished when given out and stayed at the wicket, appearing to seek an explanation, before reluctantly heading back.

Moosajee said the match referee and umpires would have to clarify whether the original “out” decision had been for a catch or leg before.

You May Like

MORE FROM JAGRAN

0 Comments

    Leave a Reply