Amla had reached his third century in four innings against Australia and his 17th overall before he was given out lbw to Peter Siddle for 104.
Amla was struck high on his pad and TV replays suggested the ball was going over the stumps. Surprisingly, he did not refer umpire Asad Rauf's decision to the third umpire.
“It was a chat that we had, I said I thought it was the height that was maybe the issue there but he (Amla) felt it wasn’t going to go over because the umpire had given it,” Kallis said.
“It was a tough one to call, maybe I could have said just refer it because we did have two referrals left, so maybe I could take a bit of blame for that as well.
“Sometimes the batter himself has a feeling, (but) he didn’t feel that it was too high, he thought it was probably clipping (the stumps),” he added.