Bhopal: The ruling BJP won two seats and the Congress one Monday in by-elections in Madhya Pradesh. The BJP wrested one of the seats from the Congress while the Congress snatched one from the BJP.

Bharatiya Janata Party candidates emerged victorious in Aagar and Vijayraghavgarh assembly constituencies. The Congress won from Bahoriband.

In Vijayraghavgarh, BJP's Sanjay Pathak defeated Brajendra Mishra of the Congress by over 50,000 votes. Pathak was the outgoing Congress lawmaker and joined the BJP before the polls.

In Aagar, BJP's Gopal Parmar trounced Rajkumar Gore of the Congress by over 27,000 votes. Manohar Untwal vacated this seat after being elected to the Lok Sabha from Ujjain.

The Congress hit back in Bahoriband.

Its candidate Sourabh Singh defeated BJP's Pranav Pandey by over 7,000 votes. The seat fell vacant following the death of Pranav Pandey's father and legislator Prabhat Pandey.