Maharashtra Assembly Poll results: Narayan Rane defeated

Oct 19, 2014, 11:50 IST | PTI

In a setback for the Congress, senior party leader Narayan Rane was defeated by Shiv Sena's Vaibhav Naik from Kudal Assembly seat in coastal Maharashtra.

Narayan Rane

Defeating Rane by about 9,000 votes, Naik emerged as a 'giant killer' in the polls.

Reacting to his victory, Naik said the win was a tribute to late Sena leader Bal Thackeray.

"The verdict is people's anger against Rane's terror in the district. Hence, they decided to ensure victory of an ordinary worker like me," he said.

Go to top