Congress and NCP on Saturday decided to contest three seats jointly for the ensuing Legislative Council elections in Maharashtra.

NCP Maharashtra unit chief Sunil Tatkare told reporters here this evening that as per the agreement between the two parties, NCP will contest two seats and Congress one.

"NCP will field Legislative Council Chairman Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar and Opposition Leader in the Council Dhananjay Munde," Tatkare said.

Elections will be held for 10 seats on June 10.