Hyderabad: Mumbai-lad Ameya Bafna of Rayo Racing emerged the champion in the Senior Max category at the 11th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship held at the Lahari Resorts here yesterday.

Ameya Bafna
Ameya Bafna

Bafna clocked 12 minutes and 46.062 seconds to beat Chittesh Mandody of Mohites Racing in a closely fought encounter by just 0.493 seconds. “This is the best I have done so far in the seniors. It was a very close race. I had a great start which gave me an advantage,” said the 19-year-old, who started the race at the second position. “I desperately wanted to win this one. I had many podium finishes in the last few years, but was not able to win any. So this has come as a relief,” he added.

Mandody’s teammate Krishnaraj Mahadik finished third, clocking 12.47.683 in the 25-lap race. Akash Gowda of Meco Racing (11.17.412) was declared winner in the Junior Max category after two drivers — Kush Maini and Ricky Donison were penalised. Maini, who had won the race comfortably was penalised 10 seconds for obstructing Ricky during the race while Donison, who finished second, was excluded from the final list after he went out of the pit lane before his kart could be weighed, in protest of Maini’s rash driving.

Aaron Ravindra was declared runner-up, while Maini had to be satisfied with the third spot.

Meanwhile, Meco Racings’ 11-year-old Yash Aradhya, who started the final round at 12th position, won the Micro Max category, clocking 8.39.008 seconds. His teammates Paul Francis and Shahan Ali Mohsin finished second and third respectively.