MCA polls: Prez Sharad Pawar could be challenged

Jun 09, 2015, 08:54 IST | Harit N Joshi

Buoyed by the support of Shiv Sena, the Cricket First group has decided to contest for the president’s post of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA).

Sharad Pawar
Sharad Pawar

Dr Vijay Patil, head of the Cricket First group, or Shiv Sena leaders Anil Desai and Subhash Desai are in contention to take on MCA’s ruling chief Sharad Pawar. It is learnt Shiv Sena boss Uddhav Thackeray will take a final call in a meeting today — the final day for filing nomination for MCA’s June 17 elections.

Former India pacer Abey Kuruvilla is likely to contest for the vice-president’s post along with Shiva Sena MP Rahul Shewale. There are chances of Dr Patil contesting for the vice-president’s post if he chooses not to stand for the president’s post. The group was able to confirm Lalchand Rajput and Unmesh Khanvilkar for the Joint Honorary Secretary’s post while former MCA Treasurer Mayank Khandwala will contest for the same post this time.

Former Mumbai Ranji Trophy coach Pravin Amre, former Mumbai cricketer and current senior selector Sanjay Patil, Shiv Sena leader Pratap Sarnaik, Nadim Memon, Iqbal Shaikh, Sangam Lad, Suraj Samat, Deepak Jadhav, JP Gawande, Dawood Patel and Rajan Phatphekar will contest for Managing Committee posts.

Meanwhile, the ruling Bal Mahhadalkar is still in a quandary for the second vice-president’s post to go along with former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar. Former MCA president Ravi Savant is likely to contest for the Joint Secretary’s post with current MCA Jt Secretary Dr PV Shetty.

Current Jt Secretary Nitin Dalal is expected to contest for the Treasurer’s post. MCA’s current Treasurer Vinod Deshpande may contest for the Managing Committee’s post or the vice-president’s post. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is
June 13.

Go to top