Holder Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi were yesterday named on the final three-man shortlist for the 2011 FIFA Ballon d'Or award, which will be presented at a ceremony in Zurich on January 9.

Barcelona superstar Messi won the inaugural award -- a combination of the France Football Ballon d'Or prize and FIFA's World Player of the Year award -- last year, having picked up both awards in 2009.

His great Real Madrid rival Ronaldo had won both awards the previous year.