MNS announces its first list of candidates

Jan 30, 2012, 07:22 IST | Priyankka Deshpande

Of 138 hopefuls who bagged tickets, several are kin of sitting corporators; intra-party competition prompts MNS to withhold names of 14 candidates

After pursuing a tedious selection process of written exam and interview, the MNS finally announced its list of 138 candidates, but kept names of 14 candidates on hold owing to intra-party competition between hopefuls yesterday. Party leader Ajay Shinde said, "There are 14 such panels where more than one aspiring candidates are claiming their candidature. The competition within the party compelled us to keep names of 14 candidates on hold."  He added that the names of remaining candidates would be announced soon after settling the issues within the party.

The lucky ones: MNS Chief Raj Thackeray displays a list of selected
candidates for the upcoming BMC elections at a press conference in

Even as greenhorns keep their fingers crossed, all seven MNS sitting corporators have bagged tickets. "In the last election, the MNS won eight seats in the city. But sudden demise of sitting corporator Chaya Gadade Patil made the seat vacant. The seat was later given to her husband Shivaji Gadade. This time, however, the party has fielded their daughter Priya Gadade-Patil," said Shinde.

Gadade-Patil is not alone, the MNS has fielded several candidates who are either related to sitting corporators or party office bearers. While sitting corporator from Koregaon Park Rajendra Wagaskar's wife Vanita Wagaskar has made it to the list, senior party office bearer Sainath Babar's better half Aarti Babar has also been granted a ticket. Besides, MNS chief released a list of candidates for BMC polls in Mumbai.

The MNS has not disappointed the turncoats either. Shubhangi Satpute, wife of advocate Ganesh Satpute will get the party ticket, confirmed the party sources. Satpute recently shifted to the MNS from the Shiv Sena.
President of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena Students' Cell Rupali Patil and party's women wing member Sushila Netke have also got tickets.

Second chance
Vasant More
Rajendra Wagaskar
Ravindra Dhangekar
Kishor Shinde  
Rajendra Gorde
Rajesh Barate
Rajendra Endal

Go to top