MSSA inter-school football: Don Bosco win third successive title!

Bosco (Matunga) beat St Stanislaus (Bandra) to win their third successive U-8 title

Vignesh Shetty scored Don Bosco’s lone goal as the Matunga school beat St Stanislaus (Bandra) 1-0 to defend the Mumbai Schools Sports Association (MSSA) Boy’s U-8 inter-school football title at Azad Maidan yesterday.

Don Bosco (Matunga) celebrate their U-8 win over St Stanislaus (Bandra) at Azad Maidan yesterday. Pic/Atul Kamble.

The win ensured Don Bosco won their third successive title and the fact that they did not concede a single goal in the tournament made the triumph that much sweeter.

‘Was a bit nervous’
Vignesh was glad that he was able to score in the all-important game. “St Stanislaus is a very good team and we were a bit nervous before the match. Once I scored the goal, I felt a bit relieved. Had the match gone into penalties, anybody could have won it,” said the seven-year-old, who scored nine goals in the tournament.

Meanwhile, it was an eventful tournament for Don Bosco skipper Zash Ferro who also happened to be the highest goal-scorer with 14 strikes.

“I am really happy that in the very first year I was made the captain and we defended the title. Being the highest goal scorer was a bonus. We played as a team today and that’s the most important thing for me,” said Zash.

In the boys’ U-8 third place game, St Mary’s ICSE ‘A’ (Mazagaon) beat The Cathedral & John Connon School (Fort) 3-2. Aryaman B, Hriman Agarwal and Hamza Motiwala scored for the Mazagaon outfit, while Arjun Khanna and Jai Jagtiani scored for Cathedral.

. Don Bosco didn’t concede a single goal in the tournament
. Skipper Zash was the highest goal-scorer with 14 strikes
. St Mary’s ICSE ‘A’ (Mazagaon) finish third

U-10 title for St Mary’s ICSE ‘B’

Arjun Jalan’s goal helped St Mary’s ICSE ‘B’ beat CNM School (Juhu) 1-0 win the MSSA boys’ U-10 Div II final. In the third-place match, The Cathedral & John Connon School (Fort) beat DY Patil (Worli) 5-4 via penalty shoot-out.

Rohit Jogani, Kabir Chawala, Arnav Bakshi, Agastya Panickar & Ali Adenwala scored for Cathedral while Daksh Sojitra, Brooklyn Robinson, Veer Kamdar & Haider Karachiwala scored for DY Patil.

    Leave a Reply