Former Union minister Murli Deora and ex-Maharashtra minister Hussain Dalwai today filed their nomination papers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for February 7.

The Congress party, on Sunday, renominated Deora and Dalwai for third and second term respectively.

Murli Deora
Former Union minister Murli Deora

The two filed their nominations in presence of Chief Minister Prithivraj Chavan and state Congress president Manikrao Thakre among others. Tomorrow is the last day for filing of nominations.

So far, Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, eminent lawyer Majid Memon (both NCP), Rajkumar Dhoot (Shiv Sena) and Sanjay Kakade (Independent) have filed their nomination papers.

The elections are being held for seven seats from Maharashtra and 287 elected members of the Legislative Assembly form the electoral college.