City unit of BJP has suspended its six sitting corporators in Nagpur Municipal Corporation, who intend to contest the February 16 civic polls against the party nominees.

The action came after these corporators failed to withdraw their nominations on the final day of the withdrawal yesterday, party sources said today.

Senior partyman and RSS worker Subhash Aparajit, who has decided to contest the polls from Sai Mandir ward against the official nominee Munna Yadav, is a prominent face among the rebels.

In the last municipal election, Aparajit had theatened a rebellion, after he was denied a ticket. However, he was later made a corporator under the nominated members' quota.

The other five suspended BJP corporators include Rekha Ghime, Paresh Joshi, Pramod Chikle, Manoj Chafle and Prabhakar Dhawde.