Rosberg beat teammate Hamilton by a quarter of a second. Behind the Mercedes pair will be triple world champion Sebastian Vettel, followed by Lotus’ Kimi Raikkonen, with home hero Fernando Alonso fifth for Ferrari.

Felipe Massa in sixth position, faces an investigation for impeding Mark Webber in Q2, and is almost certain to be handed a grid penalty. Force India’s Paul Di Resta is 10th.