Polished Chandimal boosts Sri Lanka

A half-century by Dinesh Chandimal helped Sri Lanka reach 233-8 in their tri-series one-day international against India in Perth on Wednesday.

Chandimal's polished knock of 64, from 81 balls, was the mainstay of the Sri Lankan innings and helped them post a competitive total after winning the toss and electing to bat.


Several of the Sri Lankan batsmen squandered promising starts, including opener Tillakaratne Dilshan (48) and veteran Kumar Sangakkara (26), but the 22-year-old Chandimal was the only one to reach 50 on an ideal batting wicket.

However, Chandimal fell just as the Sri Lankans were trying to boost their run rate late in the innings, beaten in flight by spinner Ravi Ashwin and comprehensively stumped by M.S. Dhoni in the 44th over.

Dhoni and Ashwin combined twice in the innings for stumpings, also removing Thisara Perera.

Ashwin, dropped from the Indian side for the third Test at the same venue last month, was the pick of the Indian bowlers with 3-32 from his 10 overs, while recalled paceman Zaheer Khan picked up 2-44 from 10 overs.

Opener Sachin Tendulkar was set to again chase his elusive 100th international century in the Indian reply.

It is the first one-day international between the sides since last year's World Cup final, which India won by six wickets.

Innings scoreboard in the one-day international between India and Sri Lanka at the WACA Ground on Wednesday:

Sri Lanka:

U. Tharanga c Tendulkar b Khan 4

T. Dilshan c Kohli b Jadeja 48

K. Sangakkara c Dhoni b Khan 26

D. Chandimal st Dhoni b Ashwin 64

M. Jayawardene c Sharma b Ashwin 23

T. Perera st Dhoni b Ashwin 7

A. Mathews not out 33

L. Thirimanne run out 7

N. Kulasekara c Sharma b Vinay Kumar 7

L. Malinga not out 1

Extras (lb6, w7) 13

Total (eight wickets for; 50 overs) 233

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Tharanga), 2-74 (Sangakkara), 3-100 (Dilshan), 4-152 (Jayawardene), 5-172 (Perera), 6-189 (Chandimal), 7-204 (Thirimanne), 8-228 (Kulasekara).

Bowling: Khan 10-1-44-2, Kumar 10-0-54-0 (2w), Vinay Kumar 10-0-56-1 (3w), Jadeja 10-0-41-1, Ashwin 10-1-32-3 (2w).

Toss: Sri Lanka

Umpires: Nigel Llong (ENG), Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

    Leave a Reply