Polling begins for last phase of Lok Sabha polls in Maharashtra

Mumbai: Polling began at 7 AM today for the third and final phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra, where 338 candidates are testing electoral waters in 19 Lok Sabha seats.

Representational pic

Polling is being held in following 19 constituencies: Nandurbar, Dhule, Jalgaon, Raver, Dindori, Nashik in North Maharashtra, Jalna, Aurangabad in Marathwada, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane in Thane district and Raigad, besides all the six constituencies of Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai South, Mumbai North East and Mumbai North West.

Prominent candidates in the the poll arena include PWD Minister and NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal (Nashik), Union minister Milind Deora (Mumbai South) of Congress and Water Resources Minister and NCP leader Sunil Tatkare (Raigad).

Of the 338 candidates in the electoral fray, 149 are independents and 26 women. Out of the total 3,17,39,442 voters expected to vote today, 1,70,20,383 are men and 1,46,22,713 are women.

There are 12 constituencies with over 16 candidates. Aurangabad has the highest number of 27 candidates, while Nandurbar has the lowest number of nine contestants.

Thane (20,72,476 voters) is the largest parliamentary seat while Mumbai South central (14,46,979 voters) is the smallest.
There are 121 candidates from registered political parties other than recognised national and state parties. BJP is contesting 11, Shiv Sena 8, Congress 10, NCP 8, MNS 7, CPI 2 and CPM 3 seats. BSP is contesting all the 19 seats.

The EC has put up 34,343 polling stations for the exercise. In the three-phase elections in the state, ten seats in Vidarbha region went to polls on April 10, while voting for 19 seats in Marathwada and Western Maharashtra regions was held on April 17.

    Leave a Reply